Superficial Spotlight: Beauty Banter

Seeing as my blog is merely in the beginning stages, I thought I’d share with you one of my favorite blogs that I like to go back to now and again. Beauty Banter by Sarah Howard is a great blog to follow and understand. The design of the blog is easy to understand, which makes the content very accessible and simple to sort through.

Behind the Blog

Sarah started her blog in 2009 and it’s easy to see her expertise in the areas of skin care and beauty. Though she grew up in the industry (her father owns the NYC salon, Pierre Michel and was the previous owner of the brand Make Up Forever), she brings her own knowledge and personality to her work. She does a great job in her posts explaining the products, DIY techniques, applications, etc. Sarah also has also gained a lot of experience through other endeavors, which she best explains herself.

Sarah has written beauty, fashion and lifestyle pieces for a variety of publications including LA Times Magazine, LA Confidential, and Mean Magazine. She also launched the beauty section for hollywoodlife.com and Lifestyle Mirror before becoming the contributing beauty editor for interviewmagazine.com… Sarah has appeared on-camera as a beauty expert for AT&T, CW Now and Extra and has filmed a beauty show for the WB.

-About Sarah Howard, Founder and Editor of Beauty Banter

CameraBag_Photo_10442-415x500

Founder and Editor of Beauty Banter, Sarah Howard

Reasons to Love Beauty Banter

One of the reasons I love Beauty Banter is the variation of the posts. Sarah separates her blog by DIY, Trends, Skin, Makeup, Hair and Body. These topics cover the whole spectrum of beauty and skin and it’s really nice that they’re separated in this way as you’re able to find what you’re looking for in a pinch. For instance, I was looking for a nice beachy spray to give my hair nice waves in the summer (without actually needing to go to the beach), and I was able to find a great DIY piece on Sarah’s blog.

In addition to these main topics, Sarah has an array of additional elements on her blog. The Makeup Bag series is probably my favorite, as I think it’s fun to see what beauty products others like to keep on them. Another favorite would be the Celebrity tab, as it showcases various celebrities and explains their individual beauty/skin preferences, products and tips.

Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 9.20.10 PM

The “Makeup Bag” segment on Beauty Banter

Final Thoughts

So while I’m only just getting my blog started, Sarah Howard has obviously had a long go with it. Beauty Banter is a great inspiration for me, and is just fun to follow in general. It’s informational without being too in your face; though it covers a wide range of topics I don’t find it too overwhelming. I definitely suggest you give this blog a read, it’s the perfect thing to check out while you’re waiting for my next post.

Comment below and let me know what other blogs you enjoy, or if you have something you’d like for me to talk about on this blog. In the meantime, feel free to stay connected with me through my linked Instagram and Twitter. You can also check out my last post on some of Lush Cosmetics products here.

 

One thought on “Superficial Spotlight: Beauty Banter

Leave a Reply

